How often should you replace your makeup and beauty products?

We all wonder “How often should I replace my makeup?” There are varying recommendations on this, and many of us are guilty of holding onto makeup for as long as we can. I know that I’ve had makeup for years myself. I just did a Google search on the topic and came across an article with some recommendations. I also came across another article in my research. I also have seen the recommendations below in other areas as well. I included the links for the articles because I want those sources to get credit for the information and I am just passing it along to my readers and customers through my blog.

Eye make-up:

  • Must be replaced after pink eye or any other eye infection
  • Mascara: Recommended to replace every three months
  • Eye Liner: Three to six months. Eye pencils can last up to a year if sharpened often.
  • Eye Shadow: One to two years if powder. One year for cream.

Lip make-up:

  • Toss products used if you’ve had a cold sore.
  • Lip Gloss: Six Months to a year
  • Lipstick and Lip Pencil: One Year

Foundation:

  • Liquid Foundation: Six months to one year.
  • Powder Foundation: One to two years.
  • The second article I read recommends replacing once a year.

Concealer:

  • Replace after 12 to 18 months.

Blush & Bronzer:

  • One to two years if powder.

Nail Polish:

  • Replace after about one year.

The second article recommends replacing make-up brushes within five years and make-up sponges should be replaced once a month. With regular cleaning your make-up brushes can last longer.

If it is time to replace something check out my online estore to see the latest deals!

One thought on “How often should you replace your makeup and beauty products?

  1. Pingback: How to Sell Makeup | Be the Best You Can Be

Leave a comment